Doesn't this list allow non-subscribers to post? Perhaps that policy should
be reviewed. This is the only (with few exceptions) mailing list which
lets spam through; it is also the only one I'm a member of which doesn't
restrict posting to subscribers (and have a confirmation email). I don't
think that's coincidence. True, it makes life difficult, but so does locking
one's door but that's just about required as well.
And lo, the chronicles report that wim@djo.wtm.tudelft.nl spake thusly unto the masses:
>
>
> Robert W. Canary wrote
> >
> > C'mon Gert !! I would think you could say somethimg to your provider and
> > stop this bunch of crap from being transmitted over the damn mailinglist.
> >
>
> Come on Robert,
>
> Don't you think that whoever maintains this list, he wouldn't already have
> filters installed? That wouldn't prevent newcomers to popup on the scene.
> (In this case a more advanced filter would indeed have cought this junk,
> because no decent people in the world would have header lines like:
> > X-PMFLAGS: 10322341.10
> > X-UIDL: 10293287_192832.222
> )
> Please take a look into the full header and go play with whois and nslookup
> and then launch a complaint into the right directions.
> To give a hint for this particular spam:
> ---
> Subject: Are you lonely? (fwd) SPAM Net Abuse!
> To: hostmaster@hlc.net
> Date: Tue, 20 Jul 1999 23:05:15 +0200 (MEST)
> Cc: dnstech@eni.net, dnsap@eni.net,
> internet.admin@eni.net, dnsadmin@eni.net, hostmaster@carrier1.net,
> fraud@uu.net, postmaster@abac.com, hostmaster@abac.net, dns@abac.com,
> billing@abac.com
> ---
>
>
> Regards, Wim.
>
>
> ----- wim@djo.wtm.tudelft.nl -----
>
>
--
Aaron Gaudio
icy_manipulator @ mindless.com
http://www.rit.edu/~adg1653
--------------
"The fool finds ignorance all around him. The wise man finds ignorance within."
--------------
Use of any of my email addresses is subject to the terms found at
http://www.rit.edu/~adg1653/email.shtml. By using any of my addresses, you
agree to be bound by the terms therein.